« Home | DCnU version of Shazam drawn with hood-cape » | Sheldon Moldoff dead at 91 » | Financial comics » | New Earth 2 Batman is made grittier than his Earth... » | Toys R Us should not be selling Kevin Keller as a ... » | Neal Adams on the appeal of Spider-Man » | The misuse of the Flash's Rogues continues » | Alex Segura's lethargic take on his Occupy allegor... » | Archie's Riverdale is Occupied » | 2nd Ghost Rider movie burns out » 

Wednesday, March 07, 2012 

James Robinson does reboot of Earth 2 that just sounds unappealing

Newsarama interviewed James Robinson about his redo of Earth 2, and all I can think reading this is that he's continued his loss of talent:
Newsarama: James, it feels like this is less a reinvention of the old Earth 2 and more like a reinvention of the DCU in general, but just on a different Earth. Is that the right interpretation?

James Robinson: Well, this book is definitely a reboot in the vein of Grant Morrison's Action Comics or Geoff Johns with the new origin of the Justice League. It's one of those books. It isn't a soft reboot, like Green Lantern or Batman.

Nrama: What's the world like? From the teases we've seen about Superman, Batman and Wonder Woman, it feels like this world is darker. Is that the correct assumption we should make from some of the images and descriptions we've seen?

Robinson: It isn't darker. It's just taken a different turn based on key events unfolding differently than on [the main DCU Earth]. And as the series progresses, you're going to see that, while it isn't a completely different world that's so alien to us that we can't recognize it, or even a world with a gimmick, kind of like the old Earth X where it hadn't won the war. Those kinds of things, which are very easy and pat to put down.
I'm familiar with the Earth X concept seen in the early 1970s in Justice League of America's crossover with Earth 2 ("Crisis on Earth-X"), but back then, even if Uncle Sam and the Freedom Fighters hadn't won the war against the Nazis yet, they finally did thanks to the League and Society's accidental journey to that dimension, and knowing what the MO of DC's captors today go by, it's unfortunately probable that whatever war takes place in this new rendition will be continuing with no clear sign of victory in sight. And after what they announced they'll be doing with Batman on Earth 2, that's enough to tell that Robinson's claim this world isn't darker isn't to be taken at face value.

Also, if the book is done with the kind of approach used in Morrison and Johns' own books, then it's clear that either way, this won't be very appealing.

There's also one more thing told that serves as enough to know why the current DC isn't worth wasting time on:
Nrama: OK. Well, there's a lot of speculation that the "lost" characters from Teen Titans might show up on Earth 2. Is there any hope for fans of characters like Donna Troy and Wally West that they might show up on Earth 2?

Robinson: From what I gather, based on the panel interviews that Dan [DiDio] gave recently, I believe that DC has plans for those characters. I'm not sure what the plans are for Wally West and Donna Troy, to be honest with you, if there are any at all. I have no idea.
It's clear already that Wally for starters has been basically shafted, and I won't be surprised if Donna's ended up with the same fate. I also don't see the point of supporting publishers who throw out such popular characters so shamelessly and do everything possible to sweep them under the rug.

And as I said before, Robinson has clearly no appeal left. He was the one who went along willingly with the storyline that killed off Lian Harper, and has never admitted he's been complecent in an atrocious move to drive away many fans, so there's really no point in bothering about his current offerings if he's going to be so cavalier.

Labels: ,

I didn't Robinson's Justice League, and I certainly do not like the plans DC has for Earth 2. Do these writers not realize that DC is sending them to their dooms, career wise by forcing them to do this crap?

Post a Comment

Links to this post

Create a Link

About me

  • I'm Avi Green
  • From Jerusalem, Israel
  • I was born in Pennsylvania in 1974, and moved to Israel in 1983. I also enjoyed reading a lot of comics when I was young, the first being Fantastic Four. I maintain a strong belief in the public's right to knowledge and accuracy in facts. I like to think of myself as a conservative-style version of Clark Kent. I don't expect to be perfect at the job, but I do my best.
My profile

Archives

Links

  • avigreen2002@yahoo.com
  • Fansites I Created

  • Hawkfan
  • The Greatest Thing on Earth!
  • The Outer Observatory
  • Earth's Mightiest Heroines
  • The Co-Stars Primer
  • Comic book websites (open menu)

    Comic book weblogs (open menu)

    Writers and Artists (open menu)

    Miscellanous links (open menu)

  • GoStats charts
  • W3 Counter stats
  • Click here to see website statistics
  • blog directory Bloggeries Blog Directory Top Blogs Entertainment blogs Entertainment Blogs
    Entertainment blog TopOfBlogs
    View My Stats

    AmazingCounters.com

    Comics blog Blog Directory & Search engine blog directory eXTReMe Tracker Locations of visitors to this page

    This page is powered by Blogger. Isn't yours?

    make money online blogger templates

Older Posts Newer Posts

The Four Color Media Monitor is powered by Blogspot and Gecko & Fly.
No part of the content or the blog may be reproduced without prior written permission.
Join the Google Adsense program and learn how to make money online.