« Home | This is why independents and crowdfunded efforts a... » | Greg Rucka wants peaceful protests by actual patri... » | The ComicBook news site upholds the Muslim Ms. Mar... » | Ramon Villalobos made anti-white slurs » | DiDio and Lee won't recognize their mistakes » | A tedious article about Teen Titans history » | Max Bemis and Taylor Esposito injected a stealth a... » | DC cancels a reprint of a Golden Age Capt. Marvel ... » | Looks like CBR doesn't want the Spider-marriage ba... » | Busiek defends artist Lee Weeks » 

Saturday, August 11, 2018 

It makes no difference whether it's one of 6, or all of them. What Heroes in Crisis could do, again, is reprehensible

Now the word about DC's "event" Heroes in Crisis is that will feature one of 6 "fan-favorite" characters being killed:
Besides the death of a Flash that is almost certainly Wally West, Heroes in Crisis #1 will apparently kill off another fan-favorite character when the Tom King/Clay Mann series hits the stands this fall.

Heroes in Crisis centers on an attack on Sanctuary, a psychiatric facility serving the superhero community, which leaves a number of people dead and sends shockwaves through the superhero community, touching off a murder mystery in the vein of Brad Meltzer and Rags Morales's Identity Crisis.

On the cover of the next DC Nation magazine, the publisher teases that "one of these six characters dies," along with an image showing Booster Gold, Harley Quinn, Arsenal, Red Robin (Tim Drake), Cyborg and Green Lantern Kyle Rayner.
Let's be clear. It won't even matter if it's a character who's an alleged favorite of the audience like Rayner who winds up a victim. As I've stated before, this is disgusting and disrespectful when any hero/co-star is turned into cannon fodder. If anything, it's reminiscent of the time Brian Bendis wrote Avengers: Disassembled, and one of the covers featured the blurb "one of these heroes will die!" I guess with Bendis now working at DC, he must've given them the idea of copying one of his worst stunts at Marvel.

I know King's issues of Batman may not have sold well because readers felt they chickened out on the marriage, not unlike the idea of marrying Kitty Pryde and Colossus which didn't happen, Rogue and Gambit's wedding notwithstanding. Those readers would do well to avoid Heroes in Crisis too. This is not something anybody who realizes the harm their publicity and trolling stunts did over the past 2 decades should waste their money on. It's just another stunt doing a terrible disfavor to the characters, past creators and fans alike.

Labels: , , , , , , , , , , ,

This comment has been removed by the author.

A lot of useful information about the comic books can be found here. But to plan and expect nothing will turn out, you can not guess what will happen next. What a pity that I can only talk about app review submission. But nevertheless, thank you for such informative information, for people who are interested in comics, you write definitely interesting.

Post a Comment

Links to this post

Create a Link

About me

  • I'm Avi Green
  • From Jerusalem, Israel
  • I was born in Pennsylvania in 1974, and moved to Israel in 1983. I also enjoyed reading a lot of comics when I was young, the first being Fantastic Four. I maintain a strong belief in the public's right to knowledge and accuracy in facts. I like to think of myself as a conservative-style version of Clark Kent. I don't expect to be perfect at the job, but I do my best.
My profile

Archives

Links

  • avigreen2002@yahoo.com
  • Fansites I Created

  • Hawkfan
  • The Greatest Thing on Earth!
  • The Outer Observatory
  • Earth's Mightiest Heroines
  • The Co-Stars Primer
  • Comic book websites (open menu)

    Comic book weblogs (open menu)

    Writers and Artists (open menu)

    Miscellanous links (open menu)

  • GoStats charts
  • W3 Counter stats
  • Click here to see website statistics
  • blog directory Bloggeries Blog Directory Entertainment Blogs
    Entertainment blog TopOfBlogs
    View My Stats

    AmazingCounters.com

    Comics blog Blog Directory & Search engine blog directory eXTReMe Tracker Locations of visitors to this page

    This page is powered by Blogger. Isn't yours?

    make money online blogger templates

Older Posts Newer Posts

The Four Color Media Monitor is powered by Blogspot and Gecko & Fly.
No part of the content or the blog may be reproduced without prior written permission.
Join the Google Adsense program and learn how to make money online.