« Home | Alex Segura sugarcoats what he's done to Archie pr... » | NY Vulture sugarcoats Hickman's X-Men » | NYT's book reviews will resume look at comics, but... » | The history of DC's founder » | Dan Slott continues his sad hypocrisy » | Winnipeg's comics convention shuts down » | An opportunist of a retailer gets an undeserved be... » | The cult of Zoe Quinn is most distasteful indeed » | Comics Beat won't admit Islam's role in historical... » | J.J. Abrams' Spider-Man story builds on the death ... » 

Sunday, September 29, 2019 

A Staten Island specialty store is the latest to close

I have no idea how many comics stores are left in the New York region, but Staten Island Advance has word of another that's closing their business down:
A beloved comic book store announced Friday that it is going out of business, leaving loyal Staten Island customers heartbroken.

Socko Jones, owner of Comic Book Jones in Mariners Harbor, tweeted that the shop will remain open for “roughly two weeks” before closing for good. [...]

The shop, a former “Best of Staten Island” poll winner, has been a haven for fans of Marvel, DC Comics, anime and nostalgic cartoons since it opened in late 2007. It also was known for hosting notable writers and artists, comedy shows and superhero movie premiere parties.
Obviously, a terrible shame they have to shut down. But if there's no mention of how and why they'd be forced to close, how can anybody expect to prevent this from happening so easily in the future, or make improvements? Bad quality of product is already one of the biggest factors in stores losing audience, doing a terrible disfavor even for those publishers who're doing a better job than the majors and mainstream are, but nobody in the press thinks to mention that, or give an in-depth analysis, do they? And then they wonder why the stores go out of business, or maybe they don't, because they never had respect for the art form in the first place.

With this store on its way out, one has to wonder how many more, in New York and elsewhere, will follow suit? And how many will remain in New York, if at all? The sad picture of business for comics continues on with no telling what'll come next.

Labels: , , , , ,

the entire medium of comics is losing outlets where it can be carried.

Newspapers can no longer afford cartoon strips.

The magazines that carried them are replacing cartoonists with whatever the graphic designer/web designer/secretary can produce in a short amount of time for less money.

I inquired to the National Society of Cartoonists if cartoonists were facing challenges in finding outlooks for their work in an era where newspapers are hiring fewer and fewer cartoonists and they said there isn't a problem. NSC said there is always the book market and b2b (business to business) market. . . which is very similar to the American comic industry's reaction to specialty stores closing. They are confident lost business can be made up SOMEWHERE ELSE.

I don't think you can consider comic book store closings a problem if no one thinks it's a problem.

No body cares about comic stores closing.



You have contacts in the National Society of Cartoonists?

Khi thị trường dịch thuật ở nước ta ngày càng trở nên sôi động và phát triển mạnh về số lượng như vậy, các doanh nghiệp có nhu cầu sử dụng dịch vụ dịch thuật cảm thấy bối rối khi không biết đâu mới là những công ty dịch thuật uy tín nhất Việt Nam? trong trường hợp này, lựa chọn dịch vụ của ; dịch thuật chuyên nghiệp - MIDtrans một công ty dịch thuật chuyên nghiệp có trụ sở tại 01 Tây Sơn, Nam Lý, Đồng Hới, Quảng Bình là sự lựa chọn sáng suốt.
Chúng tôi cung cấp dịch vụ dịch thuật đa ngôn ngữ: Anh, Trung, Pháp, Nhật, Hàn Quốc, Đức, Nga, Tây Ban Nha, Bồ Đào Nha, Ý, Hà Lan, Ả-rập, Iran, Séc, Thụy Điển, Đan Mạch, Ba Lan, La Tinh, Hungari, Bungari, Slovakia, Ukraina, Lào, Campuchia, Thái Lan, Myanma, Philipin, Indonesia, Malaysia, Hán Nôm và các ngôn ngữ khác.
Quý khách hàng có nhu câu biên dịch, phiên dịch vui lòng liên hệ
Công ty dịch thuật chuyên nghiệp MIDtrans
ĐC: 01 Tây Sơn, Nam Lý, Đồng Hới, Quảng Bình
ĐT: 0963918438
Email: info@dichthuatchuyennghiep.com.vn

Post a Comment

About me

  • I'm Avi Green
  • From Jerusalem, Israel
  • I was born in Pennsylvania in 1974, and moved to Israel in 1983. I also enjoyed reading a lot of comics when I was young, the first being Fantastic Four. I maintain a strong belief in the public's right to knowledge and accuracy in facts. I like to think of myself as a conservative-style version of Clark Kent. I don't expect to be perfect at the job, but I do my best.
My profile

Archives

Links

  • avigreen2002@yahoo.com
  • Fansites I Created

  • Hawkfan
  • The Greatest Thing on Earth!
  • The Outer Observatory
  • Earth's Mightiest Heroines
  • The Co-Stars Primer
  • Comic book websites (open menu)

    Comic book weblogs (open menu)

    Writers and Artists (open menu)

    Miscellanous links (open menu)

  • W3 Counter stats
  • Click here to see website statistics
  • blog directory Bloggeries Blog Directory Entertainment Blogs
    Entertainment blog TopOfBlogs
    View My Stats Blog Directory & Search engine blog directory eXTReMe Tracker Locations of visitors to this page  
    AmazingCounters.com

    This page is powered by Blogger. Isn't yours?

    make money online blogger templates

Older Posts Newer Posts

The Four Color Media Monitor is powered by Blogspot and Gecko & Fly.
No part of the content or the blog may be reproduced without prior written permission.
Join the Google Adsense program and learn how to make money online.